Make an Appointment

  • Is it for a special occassion or do you have any other ideas? Please include preferred date of appointment.

Engagement Ring Checklist

1. Determine colour of engagement ring band and subsequent wedding ring band

  • Platinum
  • White Gold
  • Yellow Gold

2. Shape

  • Princess
  • Pear
  • Emerald
  • Round
  • Marquise
  • Radiant
  • Cushion
  • Asscher
  • Oval
  • Heart
  • Trilliant

3.  Cut

Diamond cut is perhaps the most important of the four C’s, so it is important to understand how the quality affects the properties and values of a diamond. A high-quality cut diamond will maximise the amount of light reflected back through the top of the diamond resulting in a stone with sparkle. The angles and finishes of a diamond are what determine the diamonds ability to handle light, which leads to brilliance.

An important note to consider when selecting the diamond is not to confuse diamond “cut” with “shape.” Shape refers to the general outward appearance of the diamond, for example, round, square or emerald.

4. Carat

Carat is the worldwide weight standard for diamonds and gemstones. The word “carat” comes from the “carob” seed, the original unit of measure for diamond traders. Today a carat is equal to 0.2 grams.  What is important to remember is that as diamonds increase in size, so too does their cost – the larger the diamond, the rarer the diamond.  As carat refers to weight and not the actual size, two diamonds of equal carat weight can have very different costs based on other factors, such as cut and colour, so ‘bigger’ doesn’t always mean ‘better’.

  • 0.5ct
  • 0.75ct
  • 1.0ct
  • 1.5ct
  • 1.75ct
  • 2.0ct
  • 2.0ct plus

5. Colour

A diamonds colour grade is based on their lack of colour.  A colour grade of D is of the highest quality as the diamond is absolutely colourless.  Colour grade diamonds of E and F are still considered white diamonds with only minor traces of colour that can be detected by a gemmologist, while G-J grade diamonds are near colourless and hard to distinguish the traces of colour unless they are placed next to a diamond of a better grade.

  • D, E or F
  • G, H, I or J
  • K, L or M

6. Clarity

Clarity refers to the size, number and positioning of the natural imperfections inside the diamond. Diamonds are formed deep within the earth, under extreme heat and pressure, virtually all diamonds contain small imperfections, known as inclusions or blemishes if on the surface. Inclusions include flaws such as air bubbles, cracks, and non-diamond minerals found in the diamond. Blemishes include scratches, pits, and chips. Diamonds with no or few inclusions and blemishes are more highly valued than those with less clarity because they are rarer. Clarity refers to the degree to which these imperfections are present. Diamonds which contain a number of or significant inclusions or blemishes have less sparkle and brilliance as the path of light through the diamond is blocked. The five levels of clarity grading’s are as follows;

  • Flawless (FL) and Internally Flawless (IF) – indicates that the diamonds has no visible inclusion under 10 x magnification
  • Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2) – indicates that the diamond contains only minute inclusions that are difficult to locate under 10x magnification
  • Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2) – indicates that the diamond contains minute inclusions that are relatively difficult to locate under 10x magnification
  • Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2) – indicates that the diamond contains a noticeable inclusion under 10x magnification
  • Included (I1 and I2) – indicates that the diamonds contains inclusions that are visible to the naked eye, which may also effect the brilliance and transparency